Records Divison & Fingerprinting Services
Hours of Operation
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday
350 N. Guadalupe Street
Seguin, Texas 78155
The Records Unit consists of one full-time Records Manager, one full-time Records Clerk, and one part-time Records Clerk who are responsible for:
- Processing offense reports, accident reports, and arrest jackets
- Record/Background checks
- File copies of cases to the appropriate courts
- Statistical reports/Crime stats
- DPS Record Validation checks
- State & Federal Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Reports
- Open record requests
Open Records Requests
Open record requests (in accordance with the Texas Public Information Act, chapter 552 Government Code) must be submitted in writing and must include your name, address, phone number, the type of report you need, the date of the incident, case number (if known), and name/s of persons involved. The request must be signed and dated and submitted to the Records Division Monday through Friday, between the hours of 8:00 am and 5:00 pm.
- Copy of Accident Report: $6.00 (if purchased at the Seguin Police Department)
- Copy of Accident Report purchased on-line: $10.00
- Copy of Offense Report: 10 cents per page Certification of Reports: Additional $2.00
- Background Checks: $10.00
Driver's Crash Reports
The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) is the custodian of crash records for the State of Texas. Texas Transportation Code §550.062 requires any law enforcement officer who in the regular course of duty investigates a motor vehicle crash that results in injury to or the death of a person or damage to the property of any one person to the apparent extent of $1,000 or more, to submit a written report of that crash to TxDOT not later than the 10th day after the date of the crash.
TxDOT collects crash reports from every law enforcement agency in Texas and for crashes that occur on any public roadway in Texas, not just crashes occurring on the state highway system. The state retention schedule for crash reports and data are 10 years plus the current year. The current retention schedule effective in 2015 contains only five previous years plus the current year. Data for years beyond this period is not available. Each year TxDOT will continue to add one year to the retention schedule until the 10-year retention schedule is met.
TxDOT also collects Driver’s Crash Reports (CR-2) (Blue Form). Texas Transportation Code §550.061 requires the operator of a vehicle involved in a crash to make a written report of the crash if the crash is not investigated by a law enforcement officer and the crash resulted in injury to or the death of a person or damage to the property of any one person to an apparent extent of $1,000 or more. The CR-2 must be filed with TxDOT not later than the 10th day after the date of the crash. A person commits an offense if the person does not file the report with TxDOT.
The state retention schedule for Driver’s Crash Reports (CR-2) (Blue Form) is one year plus current year. Request for information outside this retention schedule is not available.
The Texas Department of Public Safety collects crash reports submitted by law enforcement officers and reports submitted by drivers. Both are available to the public by following the links provided below. These forms can be submitted for a processing fee through the Texas DPS site:
- Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report
This report is completed by a law enforcement officer investigating a traffic crash when apparent damage is $1,000 or more, or when the crash resulted in injury or death.
- Driver's Crash Report (Blue Form)
This report is completed by a driver involved in a traffic crash when the crash is not investigated by a law enforcement officer and apparent damage is $1,000 or more or when the crash resulted in injury or death.
You can now order accident reports on-line! (click here)
In order to download copies of reports, you will need to have internet access and a credit card to purchase. To search for an accident report, simply enter either the report number or date of accident and last name.
Reports can be printed from the internet 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for a $10.00 fee. Please allow 3-5 days after the accident has occurred before attempting to access the reports. Hit and run accidents may require additional time.
Simply click on the link above to access the site or type the following address into your computer's browser: http://seguintx.policereports.us
As a public service, the Seguin Police Department offers fingerprinting services to Seguin residents for a $10.00 fee. The service is provided:
- Tuesday: 8:30 AM – 11:30 AM
- Thursday: 1:30 PM – 4:30 PM
- Must provide proof of residency (for example: utility bill)
- Must have photo identification
- Fee must be paid in cash, check, credit/debit card or money order