caption

CITY COUNCIL

Seguin City Council meetings are held at 5:30 pm on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, 205 N. River Street. Meetings are open to the public. Meetings are broadcast via a Livestream and videos are available at the following link: https://cityofseguintx.legistar.com/MainBody.aspx 

Council members are elected from the district in which they reside, with the exception of the mayor who is elected at large. The mayor is the official head of the city’s government and represents Seguin on ceremonial occasions. The mayor presides over council meetings and represents the council to the public. The mayor may respond to resident concerns by appointing special committees to address particular issues. Councilmembers and the mayor are elected to serve four-year terms, with a maximum limit of 2 terms. In the absence of the mayor, the mayor pro tem presides over council meetings.

Duties of the council also include setting the tax rate, approving the budget, planning for capital improvements, adopting all city ordinances, selecting residents to serve on boards and commissions, and approving major land transactions, purchases and contracts. It takes six members to constitute a quorum.

Elected Officials
Mayor and each council member can serve two four-year terms unless otherwise noted.

 Mayor DodgenBEST  DSC_1297
Donna Dodgen, Mayor

(210) 504-9708
ddodgen@seguintexas.gov
1st Term: November 2020 to 
November 2024

Joe Rea, District 1 & Mayor Pro Tem
(830) 556-1663
jrea@seguintexas.gov
1st Term: November 2020 to 
November 2024 

Sonia Mendez   Jim Lievens (3)

Sonia Mendez, District 2
smendez@seguintexas.gov
1st Term: November 2020 to 
November 2024 

Jim Lievens, District 3
(830) 556-2530
jtlievens@seguintexas.gov
1st Term: November 2022 to
November 2026

4997  thumbnail_IMG_2425 - PAG

Chris Rangel, District 4                 
(830) 557-3436
crangel@seguintexas.gov
2nd Term: November 2022 to
November 2026

Paul Gaytan, District 5
(830) 305-2606
pgaytan@seguintexas.gov
1st Term: November 2022 to 
November 2026
Monica Carter2 Jason Biesenbach cropped

Monica Carter, District 6        (210) 255-0575
mcarter@seguintexas.gov
1st Term: November 2020 to
November 2024

Jason Biesenbach, District 7
(830) 832-3962
jbiesenbach@seguintexas.gov
1st Term: November 2022 to 
November 2026
5248

Mark Herbold, District 8
(830) 401-1567
mherbold@seguintexas.gov
2nd Term: November 2018 to
November 2022

 

Not sure which district you are in? Click Here for PDF or City Services GIS Application where you can search for your address and get key information associated with your address

Get Notifications