Seguin City Council meetings are held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month, at 5:30 p.m., in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, 210 E. Gonzales St. Meetings are open to the public. Due to COVID-19, space is limited in the Council Chambers. Meetings are broadcast via a Livestream and videos are available at the following link: 

Council members are elected from the district in which they reside, with the exception of the mayor who is elected at large. The mayor is the official head of the city’s government and represents Seguin on ceremonial occasions. The mayor presides over council meetings and represents the council to the public. The mayor may respond to resident concerns by appointing special committees to address particular issues. Councilmembers and the mayor are elected to serve four-year terms, with a maximum limit of 2 terms. In the absence of the mayor, the mayor pro tem presides over council meetings.

Duties of the council also include setting the tax rate, approving the budget, planning for capital improvements, adopting all city ordinances, selecting residents to serve on boards and commissions, and approving major land transactions, purchases and contracts. It takes six members to constitute a quorum.

Elected Officials
Mayor and each council member can serve two four year terms unless otherwise noted.

 Mayor DodgenBEST  DSC_1297
Donna Dodgen, Mayor

(210) 504-9708
1st Term: November 2020 to 
November 2024

Joe Rea, District 1
(830) 556-1663
1st Term: November 2020 to 
November 2024 

Sonia Mendez   Chris Aviles for web

Sonia Mendez, District 2
1st Term: November 2020 to 
November 2024 

Chris Aviles, District 3
(210) 643-7233
1st Term: November 2018 to
November 2022

4997  Jeremy Roy for web

Chris Rangel, District 4
(830) 557-3436
1st Term: November 2016 to
November 2020

Jeremy Roy, District 5
(830) 491-7604
1st Term: November 2018 to 
November 2022

Monica Carter2  Penny Wallace for web

Monica Carter, District 6
(210) 255-0575
1st: November 2020 to
November 2024

Penny Wallace Follis, District 7
Mayor Pro Tem

(830) 481-0690
1st Term: November 2018 to
November 2022


Mark Herbold, District 8
(830) 379-7376
2nd Term: November 2018 to
November 2022

Seguin City Council 

Council Group Picture BEST

Not sure which district you are in? Check your district here.



Get Notifications