Call for Nominations for Outstanding Contributor to the Arts in Seguin

SEGUIN, Texas – The Seguin Commission on the Arts works to promote the arts in Seguin and recognize others who work to bring cultural and artistic values, events, and artifacts to Seguin. The Commission is looking for nominations for an organization and individuals who have had an impact on the art community in Seguin during 2019.

The Commission is seeking nominations for three awards; Outstanding Contributor to the Arts, Youth Artist of the Year and Art Organization of the Year. This will be the first time for the Commission to award the youth award and the organization award. Also new this year, each award recipient will receive a monetary prize in addition to the award.   

“The arts are thriving in Seguin.  The Seguin Arts Commission wants to recognize locals who create and support the arts.” said Commission Chair Cathy Kirk, “Please nominate individuals you believe represent the arts in Seguin or who supports local arts.  We want to honor them during Art at the Texas.” 

Previous honorees to receive the Outstanding Contributor Award include Eithne Goetz, Teatro de Artes de Juan Seguin, sculptor Marika Bordes, lifelong promoter of the arts Pat Hoppe, longtime art teacher Helen Stein, and art supporter Dr. Henry Moore.  This year’s honorees will be announced during Art at the Texas 2020 scheduled for May 8th

Nominations for the Outstanding Contributor to the Arts award should include the name and contact information for the individual, their contributions to the arts in Seguin throughout their lifetime, examples of their artwork if applicable and the contact information for the nominator.

The Youth Artist of the Year award will recognize a student from an area school or university and nominations should include the name of the youth, their contact information to include parent’s information if under 18, the area of the arts the youth is involved in, awards received by the youth, how the youth supports and expands the arts in Seguin and the contact information for the nominator.

Nominations for the Art Organization of the Year should include the name of the organization, contact for the organization, how long the organization has been in existence, how the organization has supported and grown the arts in Seguin and the contact information for the nominator.   

Nominations shall be submitted in writing to the Seguin Main Street Program by mail to P.O. Box 591, Seguin, TX 78156 or by email to  Nominations are due by March 30, 2020.  

# # #